Graphic version of this page

award netton 2014

BRISMES Award for Services to Middle Eastern Studies in Britain

The Society makes an annual award for Services to Middle Eastern Studies:

The terms of reference for this award are as follows:

“The award is intended for persons or organisations who have made a consistent contribution to Middle East studies in Britain over a period of years or to a person or organisation who has made an outstanding single contribution over the pervious year. Anyone or any organisation fulfilling these criteria, as specified below, is eligible, without exception on the basis of nationality, residence, profession or background. The following are guidelines to the criteria that BRISMES will consider but BRISMES will accept nominations outside these guidelines if the proposer makes a persuasive case for doing so.

  1. For an outstanding record in published research on the Middle East
  2. For the establishment of new departments or significantly expanding positions in the field of Middle East Studies
  3. For providing/winning major new resources for Middle East studies in Britain
  4. For exceptional contributions to raising the profile of Middle East Studies in and outside the UK.”

This year's recipient was Professor Ian Netton.  Ian was presented with his award immediately prior to the Annual Lecture on 28th October.  We are delighted that Taylor and Francis sponsored the event, which was open to all.  

Recipients of the Award are:

  • HH Dr Sheikh Sultan bin Muhammad Al-Qasimi (2001)
  • Professor William Montgomery Watt (2002)
  • Dr Derek Hopwood, OBE (2003)
  • Professor Ann Lambton (2004)
  • Professor Geoffrey Lewis (2005)
  • Professor Harry Norris (2006)
  • Professor Edmund Bosworth (2007)
  • Professor Fred Halliday (2008)
  • Professor Roger Owen (2009)
  • Patrick Seale (2010)
  • Sir Harold Walker (2011)
  • Professor The Baroness Afshar, OBE (2012)
  • Alastair Newton (2013)
  • Professor Ian Netton (2014)
  • Professor Carole Hillenbrand (2015)
  • Sir Roger Tomkys (2016)
  • Professor Charles Tripp (2017)