Graphic version of this page

Non-BRISMES Scholarships, Awards and Grants



The Orient-Institut Beirut (OIB) of the Max Weber Foundation
Call for Applications: Doctoral Fellowships 2018/19

The Orient-Institut Beirut (OIB) of the Max Weber Foundation seeks to further international dialogue by supporting doctoral and postdoctoral research through a variety of competitive fellowships.

To this end, the OIB awards a number of visiting fellowships of up to 12 months for the academic year beginning in September 2018 to doctoral candidates in support of excellent research projects in the humanities and social sciences. We invite applications for projects relevant to the OIB’s research programme and are particularly interested in research projects that fit our annual topic of “neighbourliness: neighbourhood relations”.

Applicants must hold a post-graduate degree (master, Diplom, Magister etc.) in Middle East Studies / Islamic Studies or related fields. Applicants must demonstrate how their projects will benefit from a fellowship at the institute and an extended stay in the region.


MScT Scholarship in Islamic & Middle Eastern Studies at Edinburgh

The Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies at the University of Edinburgh is delighted to invite applications for a fees only MSc Taught degree scholarship for any of its programmes (Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies, Middle Eastern Studies with Arabic/Advanced Arabic, Advanced Arabic, Persian Civilisation).

The scholarship will be funded by IMES and will cover tuition fees at the Home/EU rate.

Applications for both the Scholarship and the MSc must be made by 2nd May 2018.

Applications for the MSc can be made via the online admissions portal.

Informal enquiries are welcome and should be directed to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .



Scholarships and Awards Available at the Centre for Iranian Studies (CIS), SOAS, University of London


Pilot Project Grants from the British Institute for the Study of Iraq

The British Institute for the Study of Iraq welcomes applications in support of research on Iraq, in all fields of the arts, humanities or social sciences, concerned with any time period from prehistory to the medieval era to the present day.

Deadline for application: 1 February 2018. Information.

Grants and up to Ten Places in the Doctoral Program of the Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies

Applications with a focus on strategies of negotiating diversity, difference, and distinction, both among Muslims and between Muslims and non-Muslims are especially encouraged.

Deadline for applications:  31 January 2018. Information.

Two PhD Studentships (Home/EU Fees Only) in Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies at the
University of Edinburgh, for Autumn, 2018 start

The deadline for the application is 28th February 2018.

Jusoor Scholarship

St Antony’s College, in partnership with Jusoor, are offering one scholarship a year for entry in 2018/19 to a student who is a Syrian citizen or a stateless person normally residing in Syria to study for a one-year Master’s degree at St Antony’s College in the University of Oxford. Further information: 


Durham University Civil Society Leadership Awards

Applications are currently open for the 2018/19 Civil Society Leaderships Awards offered by Durham University and Open Society Foundation. The awards provide fully funded Master’s level scholarships for individuals who demonstrate both academic and professional excellence and have the potential to become civil society leaders in their home communities.

The scholarships cover tuition costs, return airfare and provide additional funding for living expenses for one academic year.

Further information can be found below and on the Durham University website here.

Applicants from Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Cambodia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Laos, Libya, Myanmar, Republic of Congo, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan are eligible to apply for these awards.