Graphic version of this page

BRISMES Award for Services to Middle Eastern Studies

This is an honorary award established in 2000 by BRISMES Council. It is presented annually in recognition of outstanding services to Middle Eastern Studies.

Terms of Reference:

The award is intended for persons or organisations who have made a consistent contribution to Middle East studies in Britain over a period of years or to a person or organisation who has made an outstanding single contribution over the previous year. Anyone or any organisation fulfilling these criteria, as specified below, is eligible, without exception on the basis of nationality, residence, profession or background. The following are guidelines to the criteria that BRISMES will consider but BRISMES will accept nominations outside these guidelines if the proposer makes a persuasive case for doing so.

  1. For an outstanding record in published research on the Middle East
  2. For the establishment of new departments or significantly expanding positions in the field of Middle East Studies
  3. For providing/winning major new resources for Middle East studies in Britain
  4. For exceptional contributions to raising the profile of Middle East Studies in and outside the UK.

Previous Recipients of the Award:

  • Paul Auchterlonie (2018)
  • Professor Charles Tripp (2017)
  • Sir Roger Tomkys (2016)
  • Professor Carole Hillenbrand (2015)
  • Professor Ian Netton (2014)
  • Alastair Newton (2013)
  • Professor The Baroness Afshar, OBE (2012)
  • Sir Harold Walker (2011)
  • Patrick Seale (2010)
  • Professor Roger Owen (2009)
  • Professor Fred Halliday (2008)
  • Professor Edmund Bosworth (2007)
  • Professor Harry Norris (2006)
  • Professor Geoffrey Lewis (2005)
  • Professor Ann Lambton (2004)
  • Dr Derek Hopwood, OBE (2003)
  • Professor William Montgomery Watt (2002)
  • HH Dr Sheikh Sultan bin Muhammad Al-Qasimi (2001)