BRISMES Committee on Academic Freedom

The BRISMES Committee on Academic Freedom was set up to monitor and defend academic freedom in the research, study and teaching of Middle East Studies in the UK and anywhere in the world, including in academic institutions in the Middle East and North Africa. To learn more about how the committee works, please see the Terms of Reference. The current members of the Committee are:

  • Neve Gordon (Chair) Professor of International Law and Human Rights, Queen Mary University of London
  • Taqadum Al-Khatib Lecturer in Contemporary Politics and Modern History of the Middle East, Heidelberg University
  • John Chalcraft Professor of Middle East History and Politics, LSE
  • Sophie Chamas Lecturer in Gender Studies, SOAS University of London
  • James Dickins Professor of Arabic, University of Leeds
  • Hannah Elsisi Junior Research Fellow at Pembroke College, University of Cambridge & Junior Research Fellow at the Crown Center for Middle East Studies
  • Bronwen Mehta PhD Researcher, University of Warwick
  • Wassim Naboulsi Doctoral Tutor, University of Sussex and Attorney at Law, Tripoli Bar Association, Lebanon
  • Nicola Pratt Professor of International Politics of the Middle East, University of Warwick
  • Akram Salhab PhD Researcher, Queen Mary University of London
  • Somdeep Sen Associate Professor of International Development Studies, Roskilde University
  • Andrea Teti Senior Lecturer in International Relations, University of Aberdeen
  • Lewis Turner Lecturer in International Politics, Newcastle University
  • Rafeef Ziadah Lecturer in Politics and Public Policy, King's College London

BRISMES Subcommittees

In April 2020, BRISMES Council agreed to the creation of subcommittees to improve the governance of BRISMES. With the exception of the BJMES editor and the Graduate Section presidents, each member of Council volunteers to sit on at least one subcommittee. The committees report to Council every four months (in conjunction with Council meetings) and are made up as follows:


Role: to oversee and assist in the sound financial administration of BRISMES finances, including initiatives to increase and diversify income and suggestions for efficiency savings. 

Members: Tim Jacoby (Chair), Lewis Turner, Neve Gordon


Role: to oversee and assist in the production of the newsletter, social media postings and website content. 

Members: Feras Alkabani (Chair), Cailin Kwoh, Jack McGinn

Prizes, Awards & Scholarships

Role: to oversee the judging of the Leigh Douglas Memorial Prize; to fundraise for the Solidarity Fund and assist in making decisions on applications to the fund; to oversee the newly established Early Career Development Prize and Conference Student Paper Prize; to suggest new awards/prizes/grants.

Members: Marianna Charountaki, Sharri Plonski, José Ciro Martínez


Role: to oversee and assist in improving membership services and increasing membership.

Members: Feras Alkabani

Public Outreach & Pedagogy

Role: to take a lead and assist in raising the profile of BRISMES and its ability to influence research, teaching and public awareness of the Middle East and its languages and cultures in progressive ways through events and the development/dissemination of relevant resources.

Members: Paola Rivetti (Chair), Hanem El-Farahaty, John Chalcraft, Nazanin Shahrokni, Sophie Chamas