2023 Leigh Douglas Memorial Prize Winners Announced

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2023 Leigh Douglas Memorial Prize for the best PhD dissertation on a Middle Eastern topic in the Social Sciences or Humanities awarded by a British University in the previous calendar year. This prize was established jointly in 1986 by the Leigh Douglas Memorial Fund and BRISMES in memory of Dr Leigh Douglas who was killed in Beirut in 1986.

We received 20 incredible submissions this year and we would like to congratulate our prize winners and thank everyone who submitted their dissertations for consideration. We would also like to recognise and thank our incredible Prizes Committee and external reviewers for the time and effort they have dedicated to this prize.

Joint Winners:

  • Suhad Bishara (King's College London)

Land and Law in Palestine/Israel: Settler Colonial Perspective on Jewish Territorial Domination

  • Maia Holtermann Entwistle (SOAS University of London)

Fuelling Culture: Art, Race, and Capitalism on the Arabian Peninsula

Joint Runners Up:

  • Hashem Abushama (Hertford College, University of Oxford)

Articulations: Settler Colonialism, Dispossession, and Arts in post-Oslo Palestine

  • Razan Ghazzawi (University of Sussex)

Pedagogies of Everyday Queer Protests: Rethinking Political Subjectivity and Political Violence in the Syrian and Lebanon 2011-2022

Honourable Mention:

  • Elizabeth Marteijn (University of Edinburgh)

Between Ruins and Remnants: Religious Reinvention and Renewal Among Palestinian Christians in West Bank Palestine