2022 Leigh Douglas Memorial Prize winners announced

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2022 Leigh Douglas Memorial Prize for the best PhD dissertation on a Middle Eastern topic in the Social Sciences or Humanities awarded by a British University in the previous calendar year.

Joint Winners:

  • Nader Andrawos (LSE)

Righting Dissent: Intellectual Critique and Human Rights in Egypt

  • Nora Jaber (Dickson Poon School of Law, King’s College London)

Women, International Law, and the State: A Critical Analysis of Saudi Women’s Petitions for Reform 

Runner Up:

  • Joshua Rigg (SOAS, University of London)

A Resounding No: Contentious Politics in Tunisia 2015-2019

Honourable Mention:

  • Dena Qaddumi (University of Cambridge)

Post-Arab Spring Tunis: Materializing Revolution in the City

Congratulations to our prize winners and thank you to everyone who submitted their dissertations for consideration.